Tags

, , , , ,

Image

This knitted Dalek or “knitted oddity“, as my good friend Mrs. W would probably describe it, reminds me, every morning, of holidays (holidays in Dorset, to be exact). Mrs. W, my friend, guide to the South coast, historian, tea enthusiast and expert knitter, created it for me and I found it waiting for me in her newly redecorated guest bedroom, back in the Summer of 2011. The exact location of the guest bedroom I would not like to say, but “Dorset Dalek” reminds me of the Wimborne Minster area the most, but also Poole, Wareham, Dorchester and Bournemouth.

I believe the red colour scheme was my choice, to achieve a Peter Cushing, “Daleks – Invasion Earth”, 1960’s, feel (other Doctors and colours are available).

CNV00186

Above: Dalek boarding the train at Poole and heading for Waterloo.

This post is dedicated to everyone who made my holidays in Dorset so memorable. 

