Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

DSCN2268

The seawall.

The seawall.

I started my walk at the Fuller Street footbridge, which affords excellent view of the cold store on Grimsby Docks and the work on the seawall heightening scheme. It also offers a view of the flood lights of Blundell Park football ground; home of Grimsby Town. Then it was up the embankment, over a concrete obstacle and onto the seawall, which runs from the perimeter fence of the cold store to the start of the North Promenade. It was a windy day and you could see the sand being blown up the coast towards the Fish Docks.

The bicycle frame/mattress.

The bicycle frame/mattress.

The only thing to report on the seawall in terms of points of interest was a washed up combination of a barnacle covered bicycle frame and a mattress spring. The mess offered no clues, to my mind, as to how the two objects had become entwined. The amount of sea life clinging to metal lump suggested it hadn’t entered the sea yesterday, but had been drifting around for sometime. The dog walkers were out, as always, and I was joined by two cyclists who had stopped for ice creams, which they must have brought with them, because we where at the wrong end of the Prom for ice cream.

Once at the North Promenade roundabout, where the seawall becomes gentrified and the seaside truly begins, I watched the metal detectorists systematically combing a section of the beach by one of the breakwaters. I was joined at the railing by an old gent, who had driven down from Doncaster to enjoy the sea air. He asked if I thought there was any money in metal detecting and we agreed there must be or they wouldn’t be doing it! There was quite a crowd of them by the time I continued my walk. I wonder if they found anything worth having? I might ask them next time.

DSCN2272

Metal detectorists.

Beyond the breakwater the wind seemed to increase and there was more sand in the air. The small funfair on the beach was closed, with it being a weekday and out of season, but one or two places were open on the Promenade for the benefit of the seaside visitor in desperate need of an ice cream, fudge or a plastic bucket and spade.

DSCN2273

The funfair.

I walked along the Pier, which doesn’t take very long in Cleethorpes, to take a photograph of the view from the end of it for you (and to satisfy my own curiosity). I could see the donkeys were at work on the beach and the silhouettes of two people trying to build a sand castle on quite a large scale. There were also people taking tea on the Pier, but I had my heart set on a cup of tea somewhere else, so it was up Sea Road for me and onto Alexandra Road.

The view from the Pier.

The view from the Pier.

