Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

To quote my journal, “Walking along one of the main shopping streets I noticed an old, very old (Victorian at a guess), tram, stationary in the middle of the pedestrianised area”. Image

From this photograph (above) you should be able to get an idea of how bemused I was when I first laid eyes on it. A horse drawn tram, stranded in the middle of Commercial Street with a coffee machine on board? This was more than just a nostalgic nod to times past or a clever piece of street art; it was somewhere you might be able to get a cup of tea! I hate stereotypes, but I am the sort of Englishmen who is always on the lookout for the next cup of tea. I crossed the road to look at the other side of “The Auld Tram“.

DSCN1784

The result was this pie (right) and a chat with the proprietor. I have never been very good at eating out, what ever the venue, so no doubt my eyes darted wildly across the blackboards whilst I agonised over what to have. Then my eyes settled on the word “Pie”.

This wasn’t my first pie in Dundee (two days previously I’d been tempted into the “Star and Garter” on Union Street by a sign reading “Pie and Pint”), but after making polite enquiries about the contents of the pie I decided to have one. I’ve heard it said that “If you haven’t got anything nice to say you shouldn’t say anything at all“, but it would be a lie if I said my breakfast at the hotel that morning (a hotel that wasn’t in Dundee, I might add) was hardly filling and left me ill prepared for exploring a city the size of Dundee. I became so focused on the pie that I completely forgot about the cup of tea I’d initially gone in search of and strode off to find somewhere to sit down, out of the hustle and bustle. I ate my pie in Albert Square and enjoyed every bite. I can almost taste as I write.

Souvenir: Flyer for “The Auld Tram”.

DSCN2100A fellow wearing a flat cap, who I assumed was the proprietor, gave me this flyer after I enquired about the history of the tram. “It looks like it has been here for years”, I said and was shocked to hear it had been restored to its present condition and returned to the spot quite recently; I thought it had been there for more than a century! The history of the tram is on the other side of the flyer, but I think this side is far more interesting, so much so I didn’t even think of photograph the other side, which would have been quite easy to do now I’ve thought about it. Oh well.

If you would like more information about the Auld Tram it is on Facebook ( https://www.facebook.com/auldtram?fref=ts ) and there is a Flickr stream dedicated to it ( https://www.flickr.com/photos/greigstott/sets/72157635973000063/ ).

