Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

After filling up on plaice and chips at Steel’s Corner House Restaurant I rolled down to the Promenade, accompanied by my friend Scott, via the Pier Garden (which is visible as a line of hedges in the photograph above). Scott wanted his photograph taken at the top of Ross Castle, a Victorian folly, so I ran down to the Promenade, passed the Pelican, whilst he ran up the stout observation tower. Scott went for a “Titanic” pose, arms outstretched. I took the photograph and then ran up to join him.

The view from Ross Castle.

The view from Ross Castle.

I moved slowly, up the steps this time, rather than the path up to the Pier Garden and hoped I’d bump into Scott on his way down. I didn’t bump into him and he wasn’t at the top, but I didn’t worry as I was in the ideal place to be looking for him. It was windy at the top and black clouds were gathering over the town. I took a couple of photographs and then spotted him, eating a double vanilla ice cream, on the Promenade. How we had missed each other I don’t know!

The view from Ross Castle - looking towards the Leisure centre.

The view from Ross Castle – looking towards the Leisure centre.

I headed back down to the Promenade. No one had been on the beach by the looks of things and we only had a couple of people eating their fish and chips out of brown paper in their cars for company. He walked to the end of the Pier and I took a photograph of the view for you:

The view from the Pier.

The view from the Pier.

