Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Sheffield.

"The Fat Cat".

“The Fat Cat”.

An article on the BBC website entitled “The Forgotten Flood: Sheffield’s tragic past remembered” informs me that, “The Great Sheffield Flood of 1864 claimed the lives of at least 240 people and left more than 5,000 homes and businesses under water when the poorly constructed Dale Dyke Dam at Bradfield collapsed“. “The Fat Cat” was “The Alma” back then and the pub had only been standing for fourteen years when the¬†disaster occurred. The BBC archive also reported that “RAF helicopters were used to lift stranded office workers from buildings in the Lower Don Valley and Sheffield Wednesday’s Hillsborough football stadium and the giant Meadowhall shopping centre were pictured swamped under several feet of water“. These lines really made me think, specially the 1864 high water mark, which was well above my waist!

I didn’t have a Pint in “The Fat Cat“, because it was too early in the day, but it looks very nice on their website, so I’ll have to pop in on my next visit to Sheffield.

