Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weston-Super-Mare.
To quote from the programme, “The success of the festival is down to a combination of world champion sculptors, a great team of planners and designers, an unbeatable technical crew and of course the very special Weston sand”. This was my first sand sculpture festival and I was suitably impressed.

"Gulliver's Travels" by Radek Zivny, "a skilled carver he has produced interesting work all over the world, receiving awards for his craft in Vancouver, Moscow and Spain".

“Gulliver’s Travels” by Radek Zivny, “a skilled carver he has produced interesting work all over the world, receiving awards for his craft in Vancouver, Moscow and Spain”.

The sand sculptures were obscured from view, from the promenade and the beach, by a blue fence that gives very little away. Armed with my 50p off leaflet I took a gamble and paid £3 to a chap in an orange t-shirt who offered me a pair of protective glasses to keep the sand out of my eyes [something I had not considered]. Also stationed at the entrance was an adorable Paddington Bear created by Rachel Stubbs, which was one of my favourites.

"Paddington Bear" by Rachel Stubbs.

“Paddington Bear” by Rachel Stubbs.

"The Brothers Grimm Fairytales" by Laura Scavuzzo and Susanne Paucker.

“The Brothers Grimm Fairytales” by Laura Scavuzzo and Susanne Paucker.

What can be done with sand is absolutely astounding. “The Brothers Grimm Fairytales” fairy tale castle, was one of the most remarkable, in terms of scale; it literally towered over one. I don’t think I noted all the fairy tales incorporated into the design, but I certainly spotted Rapunzel and Sleeping Beauty.

If you want to know more about the festival have a look at their website:

http://www.westonsandsculpture.co.uk/

